Captain Luke Murphy is among eight players who have been released by Crewe Alexandra after the club published their retained list. The midfielder joins Will Jaaskelainen, Chris Porter, Scott Kashket, Tyreece Onyeka, Joe Robbins, Nathan Woodthorpe and Sam Booth in leaving the club as new manager Alex Morris rebuilds for next season.

Midfielder and players’ player of the year Tommy Lowery, who is also out of contract, is also expected to be on his way having failed to sign a new deal. Meanwhile, Morris has made clear he would like to keep striker Mikael Mandron, who is out of contract, and so there is an offer on the table for him.

Goalkeeper Dave Richards and Regan Griffiths have signed new deals, Connor O’Riordan is among the scholars to have agreed professional deals, and defender Travis Johnson has been offered a new contract.

The club have set out the position of their squad in an announcement yesterday afternoon. Crewe say that the Football Club would like to thank all its players for their efforts during the 2021/22 campaign and to those who will be departing, and that they wish them the very best in their future careers.

The following players are still under contract for the (2022/23) season : Rio Adebisi, Luke Offord, Christopher Long, Callum Ainley, Oli Finney, Dan Agyei, Madger Gomes, Bassala Sambou, Josh Lundstram, Billy Sass-Davies, Tariq Uwakwe

The following players have accepted new deals : David Richards, Regan Griffiths

Payer who has been offered a new deal: Travis Johnson

Scholars who have agreed professional contracts : Tom Booth, Lewis Billington, Charlie Finney, Connor O’Riordan, Matus Holicek, Sean Lawton, Joel Tabiner

Scholars who have been offered deals: Zac Williams, Connor Salisbury

Players who have been released : Will Jaaskelainen, Chris Porter, Scott Kashket, Luke Murphy, Tyreece Onyeka, Joe Robbins, Nathan Woodthorpe, Sam Booth

Players who have returned to their parent club : Ryan Alebiosu, Ben Knight, Rekeem Harper.